What Is Your 7th Habit?

Shane_Hodge
Shane_Hodge Member Posts: 122 MVP
edited May 2022 in Ask a Question

I had a great chat with my son today. He is 30 years old and has an MBA, has a super wife, and an awesome daughter with another on the way (which makes me a proud grandpa). 

He’s a great dad, he has a sensational high-level sales role and is a superstar salesman (good DNA, his mum is a top realty agent LOL) but he has been struggling, working way too hard, a lot of stress, and getting migraines of late. He was talking about getting a new pillow and a few other ideas to ease up the stress but then asked for my advice, "Give me some motivation, Dad." 

As you see in a past life I was a motivational speaker and trainer. So I went back through the memory bank, thought for a minute then I gave him my reply. 

I said, "Son, you do so much and you're awesome at all those things, but what do you do for yourself?"

As I asked that question, I was reminded of the great (RIP) Steven Covey author of ‘The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. Many years ago I had the privilege of spending one on one time with Mr. Covey and during this time he reminded me of the importance of “Sharpen the Saw”, which is his 7th habit. 

He says that sharpening the saw means “preserving and enhancing the greatest asset you have - you

We can get so busy, so tied up in the “business” part of our lives that it can dominate everything and we can easily forget the time we need to invest in other things, such as family, friends, and most importantly? Ourselves.  

You can have the greatest business, best friends, awesome relationships, and a ton of money in the bank, but if YOU, the main asset, is not right, physically, emotionally, and mentally I will guarantee sooner or later it will impact the rest. Steven Covey focused on that and his 7th habit is an awesome reminder of how important you are.