CDN URLs

Options
AnguelS
AnguelS Member Posts: 2

Hi,

I am new to Duda and really like the concept so far. One thing I noticed however are the CDN URLs for images and PDFs on Duda sites. For my old non-Duda site I used Cloudflare and every cached URL is beautiful and starts with mysite.com, not cdn-website.com/some_cryptic_number/.

I am afraid this is by design and I need to host at least PDFs on a subdomain so I can send prettier links to my customers in emails. With images it is probably not that easy as I expect that they get resized etc. by Duda. Or are there any workarounds to get nice URLs starting with mysite.com ?

Many thanks in advance,

Anguel

Comments

• Bruce_McCaughan
    Bruce_McCaughan Member Posts: 129 Learner
    Options

This is an often complained about aspect of Duda.

As far as I know, there is no workaround...other than possibly the cloudflare measures you mention. I have never tried it myself. Not a Cloudfare user.

• Aj_Cre8
    Aj_Cre8 Member Posts: 651 MVP
    Options

I think @Bill_Sholar may be able to shine some light. I know he is a Cloudflare Guru (or at least I think he is lol)

• Bill_Sholar
    Bill_Sholar Member Posts: 13
    Options

Well, I use Cloudflare for a number of sites, but Guru? 🙄 But the pdf and image URLs on my sites that are using Cloudflare all start with https://lirp.cdn-website...

HOWEVER ... nothing to do with Cloudflare, but you can always create a redirect in the Duda site, so a url of mydomain.com/mypdf or whatever will go to the lirp.cdn-web... address, so that can be what you give out or show online.

• AnguelS
    AnguelS Member Posts: 2
    Options

To sum up, at least for the PDFs my idea is the following:

1. Put the PDFs on a subdomain (not hosted on Duda), e.g.: files.mysite.com
    2. Point Cloudflare to use its proxy on this subdomain so it can cache the PDFs
    3. Link the PDFs as external files in Duda (as they are on a subdomain)

This is the best workaround I can think of.